Dan Newcome, blog

I'm bringing cyber back

Silicon Valley Google Technology User’s Group

leave a comment »

I just got back yesterday from a trip out to Silicon Valley.  Most of the trip was geared towards seeing some family and relaxing, but I checked around on meetup.com to see what kind of tech events I could crash during my trip.  Well, it turns out that there was a meet up of the Sproutcore Founder’s Club during the time I’d be out there.

I first heard about Sproutcore after running into Mike Subelsky of OtherInbox at TwinTechII in DC, who sang its praises.  Armed with an invite code from Mike, I checked out OtherInbox when I got back home after TwinTech.  I must say, I was very curious to dig into Sproutcore a little after seeing what Mike and his team at OtherInbox had put together.

However, I didn’t end up having time to do much besides just installing Sproutcore (which is amazingly simple, and should bode well for its adoption), so I was excited to be able to get a good introduction from Charles Jolley, the Sproutcore man himself.  Charles is an excellent speaker, and I really got a great feel for the direction that he is trying to take with the framework.  If Charles gives this talk at a few big conferences I think that Sproutcore could really get a lot of mindshare.

I don’t have more time to go into things too deeply here, but I expect to be writing more on this soon.

Written by newcome

November 16, 2008 at 8:48 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

