Dan Newcome, blog

I'm bringing cyber back

Observations about Javascript performance

leave a comment »

I just posted my js1k entry, and while I was doing the final rain dance of getting things down to 1024 bytes and testing in all of the major browsers (with the notable exception of IE) I noticed a few things about performance in the different browsers.

1) Javascript object allocation in Firefox is slower than the rest of the browsers. My fractal rendering code uses my own little complex number class that is just a tiny object that has two numbers as members. Here is the code:

function Complex( re, im ) {
	this.re = re;
	this.im = im;
}

This looks like no big deal, and in Google Chrome, Opera, and Safari, it wasn’t. In Firefox, however, creating a new instance of this type was a big performance hit. Operations like complex multiplication create and return a new instance of the complex number type, so you can imagine that since we perform these operations 100s of thousands of times in the course of rendering a single image, this can be a major drag. Here is a sample of the calling code:

function ComplexMult( a, b ) {
	return new Complex( 
		( a.re * b.re ) - ( a.im * b.im ),
		( a.re * b.im ) + ( a.im * b.re )
	)
}

Performance is much better if we rewrite the code to reuse one of the arguments as the return value, but I couldn’t do this for every case, since sometimes I needed the unmodified argument later in the calling function. I’m curious to know if creating several temp instances would help. I haven’t had the time to experiment with it, but something like this could help:

function ComplexMult( a, b, ret ) {
    ret.re = ( a.re * b.re ) - ( a.im * b.im );
    ret.im = ( a.re * b.im ) + ( a.im * b.re );
    return ret;
}

This makes the calling code kind of ugly but maybe it would be worth the performance gain in Firefox.

2) Reducing object member access really does make an impact if it happens enough times in a loop. The color cycling code in my js1k submission accesses the image data and increments the color values. Here is what the code looked like before:

function cycle() {
	for( var i=0; i < imgd.data.length; i+=4 ) {
		imgd.data[ i ] = ( imgd.data[ i ] + colorstep ) % 256;
		imgd.data[ i+1 ] = ( imgd.data[ i+1 ] - colorstep ) % 256;
	}	
    ...

Removing all of the ‘.data’ lookups gave me a pretty nice speed boost when rendering the next color-cycled frame:

function cycle() {
        // save results of lookup in 'idd'
        var idd=imgd.data;
	for( var i=0; i < idd.length; i+=4 ) {
		idd[ i ] = ( idd[ i ] + 1) % 256;
		idd[ i+1 ] = ( idd[ i+1 ] - 1) % 256;
	}	
    ...
}

I’ll confess that I optimized this accidentally while trying to get my code down to 1024 bytes. ‘idd’ is quite a bit shorter than ‘imgd.data’!

3) Use the canvas ImageData API when working with pixel data. This should seem obvious, but when I was first rendering images, I was using the drawing API to render single-pixel rectangles using context.fillRect():

// slow
function drawPoint( x, y, context ) {
	context.strokeStyle = "black";
	context.strokeRect( x, y, 1, 1 );
}

I don’t have the profiler stats handy, but filling up an ImageData object and writing it to the canvas was much faster:

// fast
function drawPoint( x, y, imgdata ) {
	var index = ( x + y * 500 ) * 4;
	imgdata[ index ] = 0;
	imgdata[ index+1 ] = 0;
	imgdata[ index+2 ] = 0;
	imgdata[ index+3 ] = 255;
}

Sorry I don’t have the profiler traces, but I just wanted to put a few thoughts out there as I was thinking about this stuff. Hopefully this helps out any would-be Javascript demo writers.

Written by newcome

September 7, 2010 at 8:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

